Reviewed: Week in a luxury Italian Lakes family villa

We spent the last week of the summer holidays staying in a luxury Italian Lakes family villa with views of Lake Maggiore.  We had an incredible week exploring the region and enjoying quality family time in our temporary home.  Our only regret is that the week flew by far too quickly!  Terrace area - Luxury Italian Lakes family villa

Luxury Italian Lakes family villa review: Video tour

This is a video I took as we first arrived at Villa Sereni (and before my boys had chance to make themselves at home!)  As you will see the villa has three bedrooms set over three floors and is fully equipped with absolutely EVERYTHING a family could possibly need for a relaxing family holiday.

Luxury Italian Lakes family villa review: What we loved about Villa Sereni

Villa Sereni - Luxury Italian Lakes family villa

This photo shows Villa Sereni and its neighbouring villa, Villa Caruso

As you can see from the video, Villa Sereni is really spacious. It truly was a lovely place to call home for a week and a great base for exploring Lake Maggiore and the surrounding region.
 

IMG_1220
IMG_1221
P1090281

Richard and I stayed in the master suite on the top floor with its own en suite bathroom and private balcony overlooking the mountains and lake…

Master suite - Luxury Italian Lakes family villa

Master suite views - Luxury villa Lake MaggioreOur boys happily made themselves at home in the twin bedroom which was fully kitted out with toys and books.

Kids room - Luxury Lake Maggiore villa

We spent a lot of time on the main terrace area eating around the dining table and chilling out on the sun loungers.  We enjoyed breakfast outside every day discussing where to go for the day, usually packed a picnic for lunch and quite often dined back at the villa at night just as the sun was setting.
Luxury family villa Lake MaggioreThe main terrace was such a lovely spot to chill out as a family, fire up a BBQ and just enjoy each others company.  We also made full use of the DVD’s, Xbox console and board games for relaxing evenings in the comfortable living and dining area.

Living area - Luxury Italian Lakes villa

Luxury Italian Lakes family villa review:  Villa Sereni location 

There is so much to do in this region of Italy.  Check out our destination guide – 15 things to do in Lake Maggiore with kids.  

It was our first time to the Italian Lakes but it certainly will not be our last.  The region is absolutely stunning and very easy to explore. (Even if you don’t speak Italian which Richard and I regrettably don’t).  We were taken by surprise on our first day blindly following SatNav on our way to check into our villa.  One minute we were admiring the lake views, next minute the SatNav was telling us to hop on a car ferry to travel across to the other side of the lake!Car ferry Lake Maggiore - Luxury Italian Lakes villaLake Maggiore - Luxury Italian Lakes villa

After a couple of days we were pro’s at hopping on and off ferries, sometimes with our car other times as foot passengers.  We felt like real adventurers, sometimes stumbling across little hidden gems and other times seeking out the many family friendly places that had been recommended to us in this Italian Lakes holiday guide.

One of the things we really loved about the villa was the choice of balconies to enjoy the lake view.  There was one for both the master suite and guest room as well as one facing the back of the property, accessed from the master suite bathroom.

Balcony - Luxury Italian Lakes villa

Photo taken from the 3rd floor balcony, overlooking the second floor balcony and ground floor terrace area.

We used them all during our time there to play cards in the evenings and I quite often hid on one of the balconies from my boys to sneak in a quiet hour with a good book and cup of tea!

Terrace views - Luxury Italian Lakes villa

Driving in Italy – A little word of warning.  We found the local drivers to be rather reckless, often coming around corners whilst taking over most of the road.  The only downside to the stunning mountain and lake views from Villa Sereni is that it is located quite high up a hillside and probably not the best choice of villa for timid drivers.  To reach the villa you have to follow a steep twisty road for about five minutes and then take a sharp turn onto a steep driveway.  When parking our car we wedged rocks underneath the tyres to prevent it from rolling.  To be honest, I was very grateful that my husband was the nominated driver with our rental company, it was the perfect excuse not to have to take a turn behind the wheel!  Don’t fret though, if from reading this review you fancy a holiday in Lake Maggiore there are many villas located lake side on the Bookings For You website to avoid this steep twisty drive.

Luxury Italian Lakes family villa review: Lasting Impressions – Villa Sereni

Normally our lasting impressions of a holiday are just the destination itself.  We usually return home raving about the places we have been and the things we have seen.  Returning from our week in Lake Maggiore we raved first and foremost about our home for the week, Villa Sereni, followed by gushy descriptions of the absolutely stunning places we visited!  It was truly a treat to stay somewhere so luxurious, spacious and relaxing and we wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this villa to other families.

**Click here to enter our exclusive villa holiday giveaway with Bookings For You**


Disclosure – We were kindly invited as guests of Bookings For You to stay at Villa Sereni for the purpose of this honest review.  All views and words are, as always, my own. All images copyright Travel Loving Family. 

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusFacebooktwittergoogle_plus
Follow:

62 Comments

  1. Julia linsley
    23rd October 2017 / 12:01 pm

    What a wonderful opportunity this looks fabulous! I’d love to treat my family !

  2. JANE DALE-BEAUMONT
    22nd October 2017 / 8:48 pm

    never been to Italy, my family and i deserve a lovely holiday please.

  3. Mona Simpson
    22nd October 2017 / 7:48 pm

    Wow such a beautiful place. I’d love this break with my family. Good Luck everyone.

  4. Mrs Morag Downie
    22nd October 2017 / 10:38 am

    It would be amazing to have a break here so fingers crossed again

  5. 22nd October 2017 / 10:14 am

    Looks absolutely wonderful. So peaceful too.

  6. Tudor Jones
    22nd October 2017 / 8:44 am

    Excellent competition prize and website

  7. Corinna jennings
    22nd October 2017 / 8:36 am

    Wow!! This looks fabulous! I’ve never been to Portugal but have been “meaning” to go for years!! Would be over the moon to win this prize for me, hubby & our 9 year old twins.

    • Corinna jennings
      22nd October 2017 / 8:37 am

      Haha!! Italy even!! Never been there either!! 😂😂😂

      • 22nd October 2017 / 10:34 am

        Hilarious!! Thanks for entering Corinna and best of luck to you!

  8. Edward Hughes
    21st October 2017 / 10:48 pm

    Pass the suntan lotion!

  9. Lee hardy
    21st October 2017 / 9:14 pm

    Great prize.

  10. 21st October 2017 / 11:40 am

    Looks great… I would be too fearful to drive, even though got my licence driving on the other side of the road in Finland. I haven’t driven in Europe for prob 15 yrs and am just too nervous, Italian drivers scare me! Good that you got hubby to drive – I would need to do that too.

  11. Susan Ann Bennett
    19th October 2017 / 9:07 pm

    Wow what an amazing prize

  12. david marsden
    19th October 2017 / 4:46 pm

    what a beautiful serene looking family destination.hope my luck is in.

  13. Jacqui Rankine
    18th October 2017 / 2:37 pm

    This would be z dream come through. It looks just like a wonder.

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:28 pm

      Best of luck to you Jacqui!

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:28 pm

      It’s going to be a pretty hard holiday to beat Cathy!

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:28 pm

      Best of luck to you Sam!

  14. 10th October 2017 / 10:34 am

    Gosh this place looks INCREDIBLE. Those views are to die for! I haven’t been to Italy since I was 15 and I’ve never taken my kids there – it’s definitely somewhere we’d love to experience as a family. x

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:29 pm

      You are definitely long overdue a visit to Italy Molly!

  15. 8th October 2017 / 7:52 am

    Aaah what an amazing opportunity!!!! I’ve never been to mainland Italy — I went to Sardinia last year and loved it, so would love to explore the mainland too. The lakes look incredible — just off to Google more about it! Thanks for sharing x

  16. 8th October 2017 / 7:35 am

    Aaah what an amazing opportunity!!!! I’ve never been to mainland Italy – I went to Sardinia last year and loved it, so would love to explore the mainland too. The lakes lo K incredible – just off to Google more about it! Thanks for sharing 💛

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:29 pm

      You are very welcome Caro. Best of luck to you;)

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:30 pm

      It was the first time on holiday that we were just happy to relax and not leave our accommodation!

  17. 27th September 2017 / 8:45 pm

    This is such a fabulous competition Lisa!!! We visited Lake Garda for our first holiday pre kids – such happy memories. This villa looks beautiful I can see myself there with my feet up (Ok ok I am forgetting I have three kiddies to run around after ! Ha )

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:30 pm

      Ha ha yes how things change with kids eh Katy!

  18. Caroline Hunter
    27th September 2017 / 8:37 pm

    What an amazing place and the views are magnificent!

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:31 pm

      Yes for once I was happy for my boys to wake up early so we could make the most of the morning views!

  19. 27th September 2017 / 3:46 pm

    Wow what an incredible competition it looks just amazing and those views are incredible x

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:31 pm

      Best of luck to you Sarah!

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:31 pm

      Ooh you may never want to stay in a hotel room ever again Kaz!

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:32 pm

      Hope you are having a wonderful time in Puglia Tania;)

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:33 pm

      It makes a huge difference doesn’t it Nell. Makes it easier to pack as well knowing that you are staying in a child friendly/well equipped place

  20. 25th September 2017 / 7:49 pm

    Wow, looks like a stunning location and the villa looks amazing too, what a fab holiday! #mondayescapes

  21. 25th September 2017 / 5:11 pm

    What a great post. Husband and I have just returned from Italy (Bologna) and loved every second. Next time, we will take more time. The lakes are so pretty!!
    #MondayEscapes
    Esther recently posted…24 hours in The HagueMy Profile

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:33 pm

      They really are! Glad you enjoyed your Italian adventure too;)

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:34 pm

      I was so happy sitting in peace on those balconies Clare! Several to chose from and hide from my kids;)

  22. 25th September 2017 / 11:57 am

    The villa looks perfect for a family get away. The views look beautiful.

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:34 pm

      Best of luck to you Nicky

  23. 25th September 2017 / 11:40 am

    Balconies galore – how marvellous is that, you can just move with the sun…or the shade!
    We’ve been to Lake Garda before but not Lake Maggiore – such a beautiful part of Italy.
    #MondayEscapes
    Trish recently posted…What’s it like inside a nuclear bunker?My Profile

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:35 pm

      I know! I’ve been truly spoilt Trish!

  24. 25th September 2017 / 11:35 am

    What a stunning STUNNING villa. We would love to the the boys back and show them where we used to live and this place seems perfect. And I COMPLETELY know what you mean by the drivers. I picked up some seriously bad driving habits living in Italy and needed to adjust again when we returned to the UK. #MondayEscapes

    • 25th September 2017 / 4:18 pm

      Its funny actually Jenny because my hubby is normally a really clam and considerate driver but the locals rubbed off on him too. I think he felt like he had to defend his side of the road!

  25. 25th September 2017 / 10:56 am

    We are going to Italy next summer would love to stay here! Plus I’m not scared on driving!

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:35 pm

      Best of luck to you! Fingers crossed;)

  26. 25th September 2017 / 9:51 am

    I loved seeing all of your pictures of this fabulous property – it honestly looks heavenly! We nearly always hire a holiday property rather than stay in hotels etc, and I always look for a place that has toys and books, like this one. As well as being great for the kids, it makes me feel much more relaxed as it confirms that it is family-friendly. I really do want to visit the Italian Lakes very soon.
    Daisy – DaisLikeThese Family Travel Blog recently posted…A Family Friendly Walk at Virginia Water to Review the VTech 5-in-1 Stroll & Grow TrikeMy Profile

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:36 pm

      Villas are so much more family friendly than hotels! Kids just need space to play. I’m happy to stay in a hotel for a couple of nights but any longer and I find a villa much more accommodating for my boys

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:36 pm

      I wish my boys would let me Emma!

    • 18th October 2017 / 9:37 pm

      Finger crossed for you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge