Travel Grobag Review & Giveaway

This week my youngest son and I have tested out a travel Grobag sleep bag. We were asked to select our favourite from a huge range on the Grobag website and chose the Carnival version.

Travel_Grobag_Review_and_Giveaway

I love the bright and funky animal characters on the Carnival Grobag, however the main reason I chose it is because it fits a 5 point travel harness, ideal for baby to wear whilst out and about in his pushchair or car seat.  The two-way zip openings on the Travel Grobag and back vent velcro is a simple and yet genius idea which in theory means baby can fall asleep whilst in pushchair/car seat and be easily carried to cot to continue snoozing!  So how did we get on….

Travel_Grobag_Review_and_Giveaway

Travel Grobag Review

Harry has been poorly this week with a cold and sickness bug.  Our new Grobag therefore has been thoroughly tested!  It has been washed several times due to sickness and medicine spills and still of course looks like new.  I have used Grobags for both of my boys since my eldest was a newborn.  I have several in different sizes and togs, therefore I am not surprised that this Grobag has washed well as I have had some of our Grobags for over four years.

This week I have tried out the travel feature and kept Harry in his Grobag whilst he was in his pushchair.  I found it simple to use with a five point harness, by slightly unzipping the sleep bag and threading the pushchair buckle through his legs.  He stayed warm and cosy whilst we went to watch our local Christmas lights being switched on!

One morning this week at 4am, after Harry was sick at bedtime, he woke up telling me he was hungry.  So I popped him into his highchair using the five point harness in our cold kitchen, he enjoyed some toast and then I popped him back to bed.  He was able to stay snug and warm and getting him back to sleep was quick and easy.

My only regret is not knowing about the travel feature earlier.  I have checked through my collection of Grobags and realised that I have two Grobags that fit a five point harness:(  I am now kicking myself for not questioning what the velcro opening was for at the back of the bag!  The travel features would have been so handy on countless occasions when one of my boys have fallen asleep at night in their pushchair/car seat. I have now added a travel Grobag to my essential packing list for holidays with kids.

What we love about Grobags

Grobags come in a variety of sizes –  0-6 months through to 6-10 years.  They also come in a variety of togs for different temperatures – 0.5 tog for hot weather or warm rooms through to 3.5 tog for cold temperatures between 12-15 degrees Celsius.

Every Grobag is sold with a handy nursery thermometer so there is no need to guess which Grobag baby should wear, I just glance over at the thermometer and know immediately which one is suitable.

As a mum I have always felt safer knowing that my baby’s are sleeping in a Grobag which stays in place securely with double poppers on the shoulder (and under the arms for newborns).  The brand have even added zip click covers to stop adventurous toddlers from attempting to open zips.  I personally would not feel safe using blankets and risking my boys covering their heads or kicking the blanket off and getting cold in the night.  Both of my boys (when free from germs!) sleep soundly and I put this down to always sleeping tucked up in a Grobag which has kept them warm and snugly all night long.

The makers of Grobag work closely with the Lullaby Trust, (previously known as the Foundation for the Study of Infant Deaths) to provide bedding that meets the guidelines for safe sleep temperatures.  Not only do I feel safe knowing that baby will not overheat or get cold in the night I also have peace of mind with the secure fixings, which means my baby cannot crawl into or out of the bag, or get it trapped around his neck or head.

I started using a toddle duvet with my eldest, Charlie, when he was 2.5 years old and moved into a toddler bed.  I wanted him to be able to get out of bed freely and not waddle around whilst still wearing a Grobag however I have used a 3.5 tog 3-6 year Grobag on a couple of occasions when we have been camping.

A bonus feature of the Grobag which you do not see advertised on the packaging, is that they make it more difficult for toddlers to climb out of their cot as they cannot open their legs wide enough!

I have always felt that getting my boys to sleep is a big enough challenge in itself!  So I have never wanted to risk either of them kicking off blankets during the night and waking up crying with cold.  I therefore feel the £32 price tag is great value for money.

Advice for parents using a Grobag for the first time – I always make sure I put baby into his Grobag whilst he is still awake.  From past experience, I have found if he dozes off whilst drinking his milk it takes some manoeuvring to get him into his sleep bag!

Summary

A great investment which will ensure a good nights sleep for younger siblings too as they can be used for several years.
Pros
Keeps baby constantly warm at safe temperature, reduces SIDS fears as recommended by the Lullaby Trust (previously the fsid), great for using whilst travelling and being out and about with baby, can be used for newborns from 8.8Ibs through to ten year olds!

Cons
The packaging does not make the five point harness features clear enough meaning parents could miss out on utilising the travel features.  When using in the winter months, baby still needs to wear a coat over the Grobag to keep arms warm.  The price could be off-putting for some parents as blankets can be purchased very cheaply however for a good nights sleep and peace of mind, Grobags are worth every penny!

Disclaimer – We were provided with a complimentary Grobag for the purpose of this review, Grobag will also be providing the prize for the competition below however all opinions, as always are our own.  

 

Travel Grobag Giveaway

This competition has now closed.  Thank you to the 422 people who entered and congratulations to our winner who has been informed via email. 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusFacebooktwittergoogle_plus
Follow:

59 Comments

  1. gemma clark
    9th December 2015 / 10:53 pm

    Enter me in the competition please x

  2. matthew
    9th December 2015 / 10:41 pm

    love it

  3. Nikki Hunter-Pike
    9th December 2015 / 10:38 pm

    Enter me in the competition :)

  4. Natalie Crossan
    9th December 2015 / 10:36 pm

    Enter me in the competition

  5. Leanne Bell
    9th December 2015 / 10:07 pm

    Enter me in the competition pretty please :-) x

  6. Patricia Dewey
    9th December 2015 / 9:10 pm

    Enter me in the competition

  7. Colleen Thomas
    9th December 2015 / 9:08 pm

    Enter me in the competition

  8. Fiona K
    9th December 2015 / 4:15 pm

    Enter me in the competition please. Would love one of these for my little granddaughter.

  9. Sadiyya maryam
    9th December 2015 / 2:23 pm

    Enter me please. Would love one of these for my daughter. I used them when she was much younger and they are so practical and kept her nice and warm during winter.

  10. Samantha Atherton
    9th December 2015 / 1:37 pm

    Enter me in the competition

  11. becci cleary
    9th December 2015 / 10:46 am

    Enter me in the Competition Please.

    Love Growbags, I swear by them for my children, (aged 10, 6 and 6 weeks), I have never used blankets on any of mine while they were sleeping, I feel that these are much safer and would recommend the to any parent.
    Brilliant review and thank you for highlighting Travel Growbags, have never seen these before :)

    • Lisa
      Author
      9th December 2015 / 1:32 pm

      Thanks for stopping by Becci. I have not taken my youngest out of his travel Grobag since we got it! He slept on the train in it this wkd whilst tucked up in his pushchair and I have been leaving him in it for the morning school run with my eldest. At least you have plenty of time to benefit from a travel Grobag with your newborn:)

  12. Isabell Whitenstall
    9th December 2015 / 9:57 am

    Please Enter me in the competition

  13. Charmaine K
    9th December 2015 / 9:22 am

    I would love to win for the new baby!

  14. Kerry W
    9th December 2015 / 1:32 am

    Enter me in the competition

  15. laura
    8th December 2015 / 11:53 pm

    Enter me in the competition!

  16. Donna Caldwell
    8th December 2015 / 7:14 pm

    Would love a travel grobag

  17. Keith Hunt
    8th December 2015 / 1:36 pm

    ‘Enter me in the competition’

  18. Melanie
    8th December 2015 / 12:32 pm

    Enter me in the competition

  19. Hannah Cummings
    7th December 2015 / 9:45 pm

    Enter me in the competition this would be perfect for my baby due in April x

  20. Jon Sellers
    7th December 2015 / 9:29 am

    Enter me in the competition

  21. Jenna Hegarty
    6th December 2015 / 7:48 pm

    Enter me into this competition

  22. Stephanie Boulton
    6th December 2015 / 7:25 pm

    Enter me in the competition

  23. Vera Bahounkova
    6th December 2015 / 4:11 pm

    Enter me in the competition

  24. 6th December 2015 / 3:54 pm

    Enter me in the competition :)

    This would be perfect for my son! Thanks so much for the chance!

  25. claire woods
    6th December 2015 / 9:35 am

    ‘Enter me in the competition’

  26. Laura Pritchard
    5th December 2015 / 8:19 pm

    Enter me in the competition.

  27. Hanjia
    5th December 2015 / 4:09 am

    Love Grobags! Hadn’t looked at the travel ones, but they sound very convenient, especially with our early wake ups for traveling.

    • Hanjia
      5th December 2015 / 4:11 am

      Oops, forgot to mention to ‘enter me in the competition’

  28. Nicki Evans
    5th December 2015 / 2:44 am

    Enter me in the competition.

  29. Becky Best
    4th December 2015 / 7:31 pm

    Enter me in the competition :)

  30. Maria Hackett
    4th December 2015 / 7:04 pm

    Enter me in the competition

  31. Kim Styles
    4th December 2015 / 5:47 pm

    Please Enter me in the competition

  32. laura banks
    4th December 2015 / 5:39 pm

    enter me please

  33. Tracy Hanley
    4th December 2015 / 3:25 pm

    Enter me in the competition

  34. Fadila
    4th December 2015 / 2:50 pm

    i entered the competition :)

  35. Tracy Nixon
    4th December 2015 / 2:33 pm

    Enter me in the competition

  36. iain maciver
    4th December 2015 / 1:58 pm

    ‘Enter me in the competition’

  37. 4th December 2015 / 1:23 pm

    Pickle is too old for these now – we loved them though. Great review. Kaz x

    • Lisa
      Author
      4th December 2015 / 2:11 pm

      They cater for kids up to the age of 10 with Grobags and then have a range of Gro to bed items too:)

  38. Sharon Powell
    4th December 2015 / 10:31 am

    Enter me in the competition

  39. Liz
    4th December 2015 / 10:19 am

    Enter me in the competition – I’d love to win this – our baby’s due in February and it would be great to keep them cosy when we’re driving to visit family!

  40. 4th December 2015 / 10:10 am

    Enter me in the competition!

    These look fab would love to win for my son due in January xx

  41. Sarah
    4th December 2015 / 9:09 am

    Enter me in the competition

    We had a summer sleeping bag but have yet to get a winter one. We’ve been using blankets but my toddler is terrible for kicking them off! So far it’s not dropped to cold but I know it won’t be long til it does! Xx

  42. 3rd December 2015 / 10:40 pm

    We love gro bags, we used them with our daughter until very recently when we moved on to the gro to bed. They are great!

  43. Samantha loughlin
    3rd December 2015 / 10:36 pm

    Enter me in the competition. Xx

  44. Kim Neville
    3rd December 2015 / 10:21 pm

    Enter me in the competition 😀

  45. 3rd December 2015 / 10:16 pm

    ‘Enter me in the competition’ Fab com, thanks.

  46. Karen Knox
    3rd December 2015 / 8:39 pm

    Enter me in the competition :)

  47. 3rd December 2015 / 7:57 pm

    I love Grobags! I used mine right up until my Toddler graduated to big girl bed. Now her little sister uses them in her cot. I’m a huge fan!

    • Lisa
      Author
      4th December 2015 / 11:18 am

      They are great aren’t they Tori, they just last and last! I felt like a cheap skate when I commented above that I have had some of mine for 4 years but I really have and they are still going strong!

  48. 3rd December 2015 / 6:33 pm

    I love sleeping bags for my boys and the idea of using them to travel with too is so clever!

  49. 3rd December 2015 / 6:24 pm

    I love this grobag! The carnival theme is gorgeous! I need some newborn size ones actually. I’m due my second baby in January and I’m so worried about keeping her warm! My first was a June baby so I didn’t even have to think about it.

  50. 3rd December 2015 / 2:50 pm

    I think the fact it makes it harder for the children to attempt to climb out of their cot is a winner, as a child I did just that and broke both collarbones x

    • Lisa
      Author
      4th December 2015 / 11:20 am

      Oh goodness Rachel:(

  51. 3rd December 2015 / 2:26 pm

    We have a travel grobag for Wriggly and we love it! Whenever we spend the evening with friends, I like putting her in her PJs and travel Grobag so that as soon as we get home, we an simply be lifted into bed. Great review, lovely!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: